Yoruba Nation: ICC acknowledges receipt of Igboho, Akintoye’s petition against Buhari, Malami

By Newsie Events Media:

The 27-page petition filed by the Leaders of Ilana Omo Oodua, Emeritus Professor Banji Akintoye, Yoruba activist. Sunday Adeyemo, popularly known as Sunday Igboho and 49 other Yoruba Self-Determination Groups against President Muhammadu Buhari, the Minister of Justice and Attorney General of the Federation, Abubakar Malami (SAN), former Chief of Army Staff, Tukur Buratai and former Inspectors General of Police, Ibrahim Idris and Muhammed Adamu has been formally acknowledged and received by the International Criminal Court.

According to SaharaReporters, the petition which was signed by several leaders of Yoruba self-determination groups and submitted at the ICC by their lawyer, Aderemilekun Omojola, accused Nigerian leaders of genocide and crimes against humanity against the Yoruba people of Ogun, Ekiti, Ondo, Oyo, Osun, Okun land in Kogi and Kwara states respectively.

In a statement released on Wednesday by the Communications Manager to Akintoye, Maxwell Adeleye, others who signed the petition with the Ilana Omo Odua leader and Ighoho are Chief Imam of Yoruba in Ilorin, Kwara state, Shielk Raheem Aduranigba, leader of Obinrin Oodua Agbaye, Chief Simisade Kuku, leader of Yoruba Strategy Alliance, Babatunde Omololu, General Secretary of Ilana Omo Oodua, Arc. George Akinola, and 44 others.

Responding in a statement acknowledging the receipt of the petition, the ICC’s Head of Information and Evidence Unit of the Office of the Prosecutor, Mr. Mark P. Dilon, said that “as soon as a decision is reached to formally commence investigation into this petition, we will inform you, in writing, and provide you, with reasons for this decision.

This communication has been duly entered in the Communications Register of the Office. We will give consideration to this communication, as appropriate, in accordance with the provisions of the Rome Statute of the International Criminal Court.”

Other Nigerian government officials petitioned are Comptroller General of Customs, Hammid Alli, Inspector General of Police, Alkali Baba, Chief of Army Staff, Farouk Yahaya, former Chief of Airforce, Sadiq Abubakar, former Commandant-General of NSCDC, Ahmed Abubakar Audi, Comptroller-General of the Nigerian Immigration Services, Mohammed Babandede and the Current Commandant-General of NSCDC, Abdulahi Gana Muhammadu. [Source: SaharaReporters]

NEWSIEEVENTS MEDIA TEAM Follow Us On Twitter: @NewsieEvents, Instagram: newsieevents, Facebook: Newsie Events (Subscribe to our YouTube Page: Newsie Eventsng.