Buhari Approves Reopening Of Four More Borders

Newsie Events:

President Muhammadu Buhari has approved the reopening of four more land borders. The borders are Idiroko in Ogun, Jibiya in Katsina, Kamba in Kebbi and Ikom in Cross River.

Recall that as part of measures to curb the proliferation of illegal importation of drugs, small arms and agricultural products into Nigeria from neighbouring West African countries, President Buhari in August 2019 ordered the closure of land borders.

In 2020, the president ordered the reopening of borders in Seme in Lagos, Illela in Sokoto, Maigatari in Jigawa, and Mfum in Cross River.

A memo released by the deputy comptroller-general of the NCS, E, I. Edorhe, and released on April 22, disclosed that the President has given an order for the reopening of the borders.

“Sequel to the presidential directive dated 16 December, 2020, granting approval for phased reopening of land borders namely; Mfum, Seme, Illela and Maigatari borders across the country, I am directed to inform you that four additional borders listed below have been approved for re-opening: Idiroko border post, Ogun state (south-west zone); Jibiya border post, Katsina (north-west zone); Kamba border post, Kebbi state (north-west zone); and Ikom border post, Cross River state (south-south zone),” the memo reads.

Consequently, all customs formations and JBPTs are to take note and ensure that proper manning takes place in compliance with extant operational guidelines.”the memo read in part.


NEWSIE EVENTS MEDIA TEAM Follow Us On Twitter: @NewsieEvents, Instagram: newsieevents, Facebook: Newsie Events (Subscribe to our YouTube Page: Newsie Eventsng. LinkedIn Newsie Events