2023 Elections: President Buhari orders all Ministers with political ambition to resign

Newsie Events:

As the 2023 Election draws nearer, President Muhammadu Buhari has directed all members of the Federal Executive Council who are interested in running for elective offices to submit their letters of resignation on or before Monday, the 16th of May, 2022 .

The directive excludes the Vice President, Yemi Osinbajo because he is an elected member of the cabinet.

The order comes hours after the Court of Appeal set aside the judgment of the Federal High Court in Umuahia that voided a section of the electoral act that barred political appointees from contesting in an election. 

Those affected are Ministers of Justice and Attorney General of the Federation Abubakar Malami, Transportation, Rotimi Amaechi; Niger Delta, Godswill Akpabio; Labour and Employment, Chris Ngige; Science, Technology and Innovation, Ogbonnaya Onu; Minister of State for Education, Emeka Nwajiuba, who have all joined the presidential race on the platform of the All Progressives Congress (APC).

Others are the Minister of State Mines and Steel, Uche Ogar, who is running for the governorship position in Abia State, and the Minister of Women Affairs, Pauline Tallen, who declared her ambition to contest for the senatorial seat in Plateau State.

NEWSIE EVENTS MEDIA TEAM Follow Us On Twitter: @NewsieEvents, Instagram: newsieevents, Facebook: Newsie Events (Subscribe to our YouTube Page: Newsie Eventsng. LinkedIn Newsie Events